As your friendly, locally-owned Waverly drug store, Meyer Pharmacy is proud to serve your medication, home health and gift needs through:

  • extensive pharmacy services
  • custom medication compounding center
  • home medical equipment
  • unique home décor

Serving Waverly and our surrounding communities since 1913

Our Staff

The Meyer Pharmacy team includes an extensively-trained staff of pharmacists, a compounding specialist, an on-site dietitian, a certified respiratory therapist and employees experienced in Medicare and private insurance billing. The team is dedicated to playing a collaborative, hands-on role with our patients, and building meaningful relationships that enable the best care possible.

Our History

In 1913, Meyer Pharmacy opened its doors at 94 E. Bremer Ave. in Waverly, Iowa. The business was born when E.H. Meyer entered into a partnership and purchased the existing John Nix Drug Store.

Following World War II, John E. Meyer joined his father in the business and eventually became sole owner of Meyer’s Rexall Drug Store. In 1958, John partnered with the owner of Stauffer Pharmacy, Max Eggleston, to form the College Hill Drug Company.

In 1965, the store moved from its downtown location of 52 years to a new shopping center at 10th Street and West Bremer, now known as Collegetowne Plaza. At that time, the existing soda fountain and grill were replaced with a Hallmark Card department.

In 1976, J.E. Meyer sold his interest to his partner Max Eggleston. Under Eggleston’s direction, College Hill Drug Company bought a pharmacy located in the new Willow Lawn Mall and another in Independence, Iowa. These two businesses were eventually sold.

In 1984, Eggleston sold the stock of the College Hill Drug Company to Thomas J. Taiber, a staff pharmacist at Stauffer Pharmacy. Under Taiber’s direction, the College Hill Drug Company opened Julie’s Hallmark card shop in the new Village Square Shopping Center.

In 1995, Taiber made the business decision to remodel the Meyer Pharmacy location on West Bremer and absorb the downtown Stauffer Pharmacy business. Stauffer Pharmacy was then closed. In 2006, Julie’s Hallmark was closed and assimilated into the Meyer Pharmacy location.

Following 23 years of sole ownership, Taiber sold the assets of the College Hill Drug Company in March 2007 to the company RYKA Incorporated, owned by Ryan and Kate Frerichs. The Frerichs continue to operate Meyer Pharmacy today.

IMG_2917Ryan Frerichs, Pharm.D., R.Ph.

Ryan Frerichs is the head pharmacist and owner of Meyer Pharmacy. After managing two different pharmacies for a national grocery store chain in the Ft. Collins, Colorado area, he sought a more hands-on setting where he could work closely with patients and build long-term relationships.

Frerichs received his doctorate of pharmacy degree from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy in 2001. He is involved with several professional community service organizations, including the American Pharmacist Association, National Community Pharmacy Association and Rotary, and is an advisory board member of the Iowa Pharmacy Association’s committee on Medicaid and Pharmacy Benefit Managers. In his free time, Frerichs enjoys playing golf, watching the Iowa Hawkeyes and spending time with his family.

IMG_2924Kate Frerichs, MS, RD, LD

Kate Frerichs joined the Meyer Pharmacy team in 2010. Frerichs earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Health Promotion from the University of Iowa and also holds a Master’s Degree in Food Science and Human Nutrition from Colorado State University. Frerichs is a member of the American Dietetic Association and Iowa Dietetic Association. Frerichs and her family reside in Waverly. In her free time, she enjoys reading books, photography and spending time with family.


Boualay Crow started at Meyer Pharmacy in 2009. She provided a pivotal role in obtaining Medicare accreditation for durable medical equipment. Crow is a graduate of Hawkeye Community College with an Associate’s Degree in Applied Science. She is a member of the American Association for Respiratory Care and an advisory board committee member for the Hawkeye Community College respiratory program. In her time off, she enjoys spending time with friends and family.

Lynette 001

Lynette Koch, Pharm.D.

Lynette Koch joined the Meyer Pharmacy staff in July of 2011. Koch graduated from Coe College in 2006 with her Bachelor’s Degree in Biology and Molecular Biology and received her Doctorate of Pharmacy Degree from the University of Iowa in 2010. With a strong interest in patient care and medication therapy management, Koch completed a post-graduate Community Pharmacy Practice Residency through the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Koch is originally from Coggon, Iowa and is excited to be part of the Waverly community. In her spare time, she enjoys spending time outdoors and visiting family and friends.

oelmann_2651_web bostudio121

Mary Oelmann, Pharm.D, MS

Mary Oelmann joined the Meyer Pharmacy staff in April of 2014. She received a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemistry from Iowa State University. Oelmann then graduated from the University of Kentucky, College of Pharmacy with a Doctorate of Pharmacy and Master’s in Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2013. Oelmann was raised in Waterloo and is excited to be back home in Iowa, making her family roots in the Waverly/Shell Rock area. She enjoys spending time with family and friends, riding horses and being outside.


Andrea Schaefer, CRT, RCP

Andrea Schaefer started at Meyer Pharmacy in 2013. She is a board-certified Respiratory Therapist and graduated from Hawkeye Community College with an Associate’s Degree in Applied Science for Respiratory Care. She is also a member of the American Association for Respiratory Care. Schaefer is native to the Cedar Valley and enjoys spending free time with family and friends.